Ode to New York

This is my town, this is my city; through my eyes, looks so pretty.

I’ve found that since moving to New York, certain things excite me that didn’t really affect me at all when I was living in Massachusetts.

The other day I got on the M train thinking it was the F. At first I was a little annoyed at myself for not paying attention, but I could transfer at the next stop so it didn’t really matter. [I’ve gotten really good at troubleshooting when it comes to the subway.] Then, something magical happened. The automatic train announcer lady said, “This is West 4th Street. Transfer is available to the A, B, C, D, E and F trains.” FINALLY! For weeks I have been traveling every morning and afternoon on the F train, hearing “Transfer is available to the A, B, C, D, E and M trains.” For some reason, this annoyed me to no end. The fact that all six trains were in alphabetical order caused me unusual amounts of joy.

It’s the little things.

I also get unreasonably excited when the elevators at work skip the 8th floor and go right to 10. It’s similar to the feeling you get when you descend into the subway just as the train is pulling up. Or when an available cab happens to be approaching as soon as you step off the curb to hail one. Or when the express train that usually runs locally at night decides to run express. A small victory. A personal win.

These aren’t the kind of things you announce your excitement over. Just small, quiet, personal celebrations from within.

I also have internal pleasant moments when I realize I am in what I call a “New York Moment”. Something that feels truly and stereotypically New York. Like chatting with an actor and the guy behind the counter about plays and theatre at a small, family owned diner in the Village. Sitting there, eating my unusually delicious turkey wrap, I realized I was in a New York Moment and couldn’t help but smiling to myself.

This happens a lot. I’ve been living in New York for five years. The first four years, I was living in dorms, so I was home for most of December and January and the entire summer. I thought this was the reason I didn’t sense myself becoming a “jaded New Yorker”. Why I still was regularly awed by this city. However, last September I moved into a real apartment. I lived here through the winter and summer, only going home for a weekend here and there. I was going to school in the Village, working in Chelsea and living in Inwood [above Washington Heights], so I saw a lot of the city on a regular basis. And still? Every time I find myself in Times Square? I stare. With my mouth slightly ajar. The same way I did the first time I saw it in person at 13 years old. Every time. I don’t think I’ll ever get sick of it.

Don’t get me wrong, I still want to kick tourists in the back of the knees so I can jump over their map-toting, fanny-pack wearing, slow, fat asses. I just haven’t lost the awe and wonder in seeing the bright lights of Broadway.

Some might say that this is keeping me from being able to consider myself a “New Yorker” at all, but I would contend that. I can still navigate the underground maze that is the subway. I can still walk faster and farther than the average American. I’m still up for going out until 4 in the morning two days in a row to go on adventures, even if I have to get up at 8am for a service day.

I consider myself a New Yorker. Not by blood, but by choice. I’m just not a jaded New Yorker. And I hope I never become one.

Because I kind of love being in love with this city.

~ by Valerie Anne on 10/26/2010.

5 Responses to “Ode to New York”

  1. Oh my goodness, I adore this post. I miss those New York moments. No other city really has their own versions, either. New York is it. Le sigh.

  2. Valerie I just found your blog and I love it! And you are an amazing writer.
    Pura vida!
    Bethy

    • Thanks, Bethy! I couldn’t decide if I wanted people to read it or not, so I put it on my page without saying anything to see what happened haha Glad you like it!

      Pura vida ❤

  3. […] Glee recaps [Gleecaps, if you will], sometimes I do creative writing, sometimes I just write about life, love and […]

Leave a Reply

 
