GIVE THAT BACK!!

Sometimes, I get really annoyed at popular media.

Then I realize that I’m fully intertwined in it, and I can’t really get angry at it, and it’s really just me trying to force my opinions on other people.

Whatever, I still have a point to make.

I hate it when trends (especially trends that suck) steal things from me.

I want the word “twilight” back.  Before this phase of totally invented creatures that a certain crazy person decided to incorrectly label as “vampires”, this was a beautiful and sort of poetic word.  It perfectly described that peaceful time of night when daylight softly transitions into night.  The world is transformed by hushed tones of reds and purples, and a coolness fills the air.

No sparkling, sexually frustrated pretty boys with scary eyes. No werewolves with an opposition to clothing.  No emotionless, whining shells of humans.

Just loveliness and joy and calm.

Ugh.

I’d also appreciate the prompt return of the word “situation”.  It was extremely convenient and, quite frankly, necessary.  Don’t get me wrong, I actually enjoy watching this train wreck of a “reality” show.  It makes me appreciate my life, my friends and my education a lot more than I already do.  I just don’t want to have to picture an overly gelled, slightly orange juice head with a six pack every time I want to describe to someone what is or was going on in my life.

If you’re going to develop a cult-like following, at least have the decency to select a title that is not previously attached to something awesome or useful.  Or anything at all!

There’s no such thing as a snooki.

Vanessa Carlton, accompanied by her perfect piano and enchanting voice, sings a hauntingly beautiful song that I used to listen to on repeat in my bed whenever I couldn’t sleep.  It was calming and empowering all at the same time.  “I will never cease to fly if held down.”  Such exquisite imagery throughout the entire song.

Guess what the name of the song is?

Twilight.

I hate that Stephenie Meyer and the teenage youth of America are trying to steal this song from me. I’m clinging to it with everything I have within me.  But the media is overly prevalent and I watch too much television so I fear I will never fully be able to disassociate the word and the phenomenon.

This depresses me.

I hope one day it will happen. This epidemic will die out and we can slowly reclaim that word.  I mean, not everyone thinks of a bloody shower everytime someone calls a less than sane person a ‘psycho’, right?  And at commencement ceremonies, not everyone is thinking of Ms. Robinson every time someone introduced ‘the graduate’?

Right?

Right?!

Sigh.

~ by Valerie Anne on 11/12/2010.

3 Responses to “GIVE THAT BACK!!”

  1. FOR SERIOUS!!! This is SO frustrating! Way to ruin everything, tweens… I am not a fan of this situation.

  2. […] Kristen Stewart officially won me over [though I will always hate Bella Swan and everything she stands for] was a scene where the tour manager leans over from behind Dakota’s character and kisses her […]

Leave a Reply

 
