A Poem

So when I posted How To Break Someone’s Heart, I mentioned in the tags that it originated from a poem.  We had an assignment in my writing class to take a piece of writing [i.e. a poem] and make changes and adaptations to it until it is in an entirely new genre.  There were a lot of drafts and changes made to get it from this point to the How To genre, but the same emotions and feelings are present in both, one just with a more snarky twist than the other.  I’ve written poetry for as long as I can remember, but it was always just for me.  I never shared it with others.  So sharing this with my class was a huge step for me as a writer, and sharing it here is another.

I think part of the reason I feel more comfortable sharing this poem now is that the pain is faint and more distant now.  It’s not something I’m going through, but something I survived.  Not something I’m suffering with, but something I endured.  I think this is a story whose details will unfold bit by bit in the future of this blog, because it was such a huge turning point in my emotional development as an adult.

This poem doesn’t have a name yet, and maybe it will never have a name.  It’s not perfect, but neither am I.  Neither was the situation.

Anyway, without further ado…

 

a playful glance from across the room
a cool hand brushing hair off my neck
a head on my shoulder
or an arm around my waist

I smile and laugh
until I remember
that it will always mean more to me
than it could to you

for you belong to another
and though this will always be
your hand on my arm
your smile
your laugh
will always bring both joy and pain
comfort and longing
true friendship and unrequited love

~ by Valerie Anne on 11/22/2010.

Leave a Reply

 
