Reunited and it feels so…good?

Tonight is my five year high school reunion.

I have mixed feelings about this event.  For one thing, two of the people I keep the most in touch with aren’t going. Party poopers.

Also…I didn’t really love high school.  I mean, the people in general were fine, and I had some fun times, but overall I was a mess and I was mostly miserable.

So why am I going, you ask?

I’ve been wondering the same thing this morning.

I think it might be fun, though.  There are some people who I haven’t seen much or at all since high school that I wouldn’t mind seeing again.

Mostly I think I’m going to prove something to myself.  To kind of show off that I’m not the same person I was in high school.  I don’t think anyone will really care, but I feel like I want to be able to go see people I haven’t seen since I was an insecure, awkward nerdball and tell them about my life in New York City, how I finished my master’s degree this summer in London and Oxford… just let them see that I’m happy.  Not to rub it in – I hope they’re happy too.

Okay, I don’t know what it will do, exactly.  Maybe it will help me put the past behind me officially. High school already feels like it was an entire lifetime ago.  So maybe this will be like closure. A time to reconnect with some people, remind myself why I didn’t stay in touch with others.

Maybe I’ll even make new friends. I didn’t really drink until I got to college, and I plan on being drunk before I find my seat tonight, so I’ll probably be much more outgoing and talkative than I ever was in high school.

I guess tonight is anything goes!

~ by Valerie Anne on 11/26/2010.

2 Responses to “Reunited and it feels so…good?”

  1. How did it go? At first I was upset I couldn’t make it, then I was like “why do i want to pay $40 for a piece of dry chicken and to see a bunch of people that I was never friends with?” Honestly I probably wouldn’t know half of them, and less than that would know me. And I’m sure drinks weren’t included in the price. But maybe I was just trying to make myself feel better about missing it, because I’m sure it could have been fun…or at least entertaining.

    • It was exactly that – $40 for dry chicken and staring at people I didn’t like 5 years ago who mostly didn’t recognize me anyway. Drinks were $7 each and the music was kind of awful. It was interesting to talk to some people I hadn’t seen in a while, but the people I would have loved to see the most (you and the rest of the group of us who were close freshman year) weren’t there… I’m glad I went because I was here anyway, but I would have been upset if I had traveled to Boston specifically for this event…

Leave a Reply

 
