Time moves forward for a reason

Last night was just further proof that forward is the way to go.

I actually did have fun at the reunion, I’m glad I went. I got to chat with some old friends who I hadn’t talked to in a while and got confirmation that I’m very glad high school is over and that I’m far, far away from there.

At first, it was actually hilarious how much like high school it was. It was like a semi-formal, where some people were dressed to go clubbing but some people were in jeans, everyone standing around in the same exact groups that they would have been standing in five years ago.  It felt just as awkward as it did back then, with one major difference – this time, I didn’t care.  Suddenly the girls who I thought were so “cool” just seemed bitchy.

I don’t know if some people go to their and reminisce about high school and feel all nostalgic and wish for those times back.  I enjoyed learning what some people had been doing in the past five years, laughing at the utter awkwardness of the entire situation.  My best days are still ahead of me. The  days I’m living in now are infinitely better than those days of high school.

I am glad I went. Though, I’m not sure that I’ll be going to the ten-year.  We’ll see.

Tonight, I’m ‘reuniting’ with some real friends.  I have a feeling it will be infinitely more fun than reuniting with people who never really got to know the real me anyway.

~ by Valerie Anne on 11/27/2010.

2 Responses to “Time moves forward for a reason”

  1. Kind of wish I had gone – at least we would have had fun together. I really like your explanation of how things are the same but somehow different – I think I’d feel the same way. That everything was awkward and people stayed in the same groups, but that “cool” became “bitchy,” and that we’ve changed so much since then.

    Anyway. That. And. YOU DIDN’T UPDATE YESTERDAY. That means two today, right??

    • Of course you notice the day I don’t post. Two today. And every day thereafter. Indefinitely.

      Until I run out of things to say. But that hasn’t happened in 23 years and I don’t anticipate it happening any time soon.

Leave a Reply

 
