Prompted by Promptless Prompts

I was trying to find inspiration for today’s post, so I went to the NaBloPoMo website to look at the prompts.

They’re all super lame.

They’re all cheesy questions that you find on college applications or that you ask on horrible awkward first dates.  Or just not worth writing about.

I hate them all and I don’t want to answer any of them.  Some of them are more life-goal questions that are just too stressful to think about.  Some are silly and not worth my time.

Some would have such short, boring answers, they wouldn’t be a full blog post.

Like this one:

Name one famous movie you’ve never seen. Why not?

My answer would be,

“Dirty Dancing”. Because I haven’t gotten around to it yet.

Not much of an entry, is it? Maybe I could elaborate and be like,

People are always shocked when they find out I haven’t seen it, because apparently everyone in the free world has seen it, especially anyone who has ever taken a dance lesson in their life.  Since I am living in the free world and danced from age 2-18, apparently it is just assumed that I have seen this movie, and it’s also seemingly a travesty that I have not.  I once borrowed it from a friend for the weekend but didn’t get around to watching it. I hate feeling forced to do things. Especially because I feel like it’s been so hyped up to me at this point, I’m bound to be disappointed. I will watch it eventually, I will. I’m just in no hurry. It’s a “classic”. It has been around this long, I have a feeling it’ll be around for a while.

So, okay that ended up being more interesting to answer than I thought it would be. But I still would have felt like it was a short cop-out entry. I guess I could have then gone on to talk about other classics I hadn’t seen. There’s no rule that says I can’t deviate from the original question and have to ONLY name one famous movie I have never seen.  I would go on to talk about all the Star Wars movies and how, though I was once tempted by someone to watch them all in chronological order [as opposed to the order they were released], I actually have no interest or intention of ever seeing these movies.

Okay, maybe I’m not giving these prompts a chance.  Or maybe I just chose a fluke secretly-good-prompt.  Some of them are definitely not worth approaching.  Like, “Tell us everything you know about the day you were born.”

My answer would be:

My mom was in labor for a long time. I know this because she reminds me of this often. As if 23 year old me had anything to do with fetus me being stubborn.  I also know that they had to take me out with tongs and they poked me in the eye with those tongs and the umbilical cord was wrapped around my neck.  But then I was fine.  And they had to put my mother on a tub of ice.  Which she also mentions a lot. As in, any time someone asks her why she’s always cold.  Though I somehow doubt this was the actual cause of her cold intolerance.

I guess I know more about the day I was born than I thought.

Damnit.

Maybe I will start using these prompts when I get stuck…

I hate when I prove myself wrong. Hurumph.  Seems like my parents were right all along, I do have something to say about everything.

~ by Valerie Anne on 12/01/2010.

Leave a Reply

 
