Smiling Back

Ever have those days where you feel like the Universe is saying, “Hey. Just thought I’d send a little something your way.”? Just little messages to let you know that you exist and you deserve to find simple pleasures?

Like when you get into the shower and the first song they play is the song that had been stuck in your head that morning. It’s like the Universe was smiling at you.

Sure, you could rationalize it and say that this song that was stuck in your head also happens to be one of the most popular songs on the radio. Or you could just smile back.

Because you know what, a lot of songs are popular on the radio right now. And not all of them were stuck on your head this morning. And not all of them came on while you were in the shower. I’m no math whiz, but I’m sure the odds are more in favor of the Universe than random chance.

Luckily, I don’t know any mathematicians that would try to prove me wrong.

I always take little strokes of luck as smiles from the Universe. Like when the train is pulling up to the station just as I get down on the platform.  Or when my original lunch plans fall through, but then I end up getting a free lunch instead.  Or when I’m having a bad day and an old friend contacts me out of the blue just to say hi. Or when the words to a song I’m listening to on my iPod happen to match up with words I’m reading on a sign as I walk by.

I don’t take it as coincidence. I take it as something special meant just for me.

It might be naïve to think like this, but honestly I don’t really care. I love that moments like this have the ability to make me smile.

So Universe, if you’re listening? Keep smiling on me.

Because I’ll always smile back.

~ by Valerie Anne on 02/08/2011.

2 Responses to “Smiling Back”

  1. This made me so happy. Also, the same thing happened to me with the same song (Forget You) in the cafeteria the other day… Love it! Keep smiling back! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
