And the Oscar goes to…

I love award shows. I love the outfits, I love the hairstyles, I love the clips, I love the creative montages/songs/performances.

I love them.

I will attend one someday.

It has been my goal for as long as I can remember.

When I was young, I would imagine the types of speeches I would give while accepting my award.

As an adult, I would be happy just to present.

To say, “And the Oscar goes to…”

And make someone’s dream come true.

Though, I won’t lie. I would be beyond thrilled to attend an awards show.  Be a seat filler. Just be in the room with that much talent.  Just see up close the joy, the tears, the pain, the excitement, the appreciation.

I don’t believe that having dreams that seem impossible is stupid. I think it’s great. I think it’s amazing to have something to hope for, even beyond any reason.

So mock me if you’d like. But people shrugged it off when I was little and would say that someday I would live in New York. And here I am.

To use a quote I often repeat to my alarm clock in the morning, “I hear you. Get up, get up you say. Time to start another day! Well, there’s one thing…they can’t order me to stop dreaming.”

~ by Valerie Anne on 02/27/2011.

Leave a Reply

 
