Here We Go A-Wassailing

I always assumed wassailing was just a fancy way to say wandering until just now.

Hm. Learn something new every day.

Anyway, today I went a-wandering. I was feeling springy and active and decided to go to the Dunkin Donuts that’s about a ten to fifteen minute walk from my apartment for a latte.  Instead of going back the way I came, I decided to venture in a different direction. Along the way, I found a park. It was actually a Parade Ground with some fields and a playground.  I also found a cemetery. I wanted to go in and explore but the only visible entrance was closed up. I might venture that way again tomorrow, earlier in the day, to see if I can get in.

I find cemeteries fascinating. That might be morbid of me, but I love to walk around and look at the beautifully crafted gravestones and read the names, dates and epitaphs and wonder what everyone’s story was. There’s even a tangible sadness in the air.

I’m not saying I like to have picnics in them or dress all in black and hold a séance in one, I just find cemeteries interesting.

Though if you asked me, I’d probably go with you to have a séance in one. Just for fun.

I like walking. Wandering around, music in my ears, wind at my back.

Actually, I prefer the wind in my face so it doesn’t blow my hair into my eyes.

But you know what I mean.

Today’s walk was particularly exciting because it was so nice out. Spring is fast approaching!!

Look, I even found a house that reminded me of England:

Which is fun because the area I live in is called Kensington. Which is also British sounding.  The big ugly modern building and the van in front kind of ruined it, but it still makes me smile.

Then I played with it on my new iPod. And came up with this:

Which I thought was pretty nifty. I like photo editing and playing with fun features like this. Makes even great pictures a little more interesting.

All in all, today has shaped up to be quite the lovely Saturday. I hope the weather continues to get nicer so I can go on more Brooklyn adventures.

~ by Valerie Anne on 03/05/2011.

Leave a Reply

 
