Grapes of…whatever the opposite of wrath is

Dear Mother Nature,

I know we’ve had our differences in the past, and sometimes I curse you silently (or outwardly), but I wanted you to know that I appreciate you, too.  I was reminded of this a few times this week, and I just can’t keep it in any longer. I have something to say.

Thank you for grapes. Particularly red grapes. They are so sweet and juicy and fun to snack on. It doesn’t take an obscene amount to satisfy, and even if it did, it’s fruit! So no one judges you and it doesn’t go straight to your hips.  I am on to you, however, and know that you throw at least one sour grape into every bunch just to see us make those puckered up faces, but it’s so worth the risk.

Plus, you deserve to get some pleasure out of these heavenly treats as well.

Though I have a funny feeling you were not directly behind seedless grapes and these genetically modified bulbs of joy could quite possibly be the cause of cancer, your original creation inspired these easy-to-eat morsels, and for that I thank you. From the bottom of my heart.

So, while it is not nearly the only thing I think you deserve praise for, I simply had to let it out because it was on my mind. And tongue.

Keep doing what you’re doing, and I’ll do my part in keeping you healthy, too.

Love always most of the time,

Valerie

~ by Valerie Anne on 03/08/2011.

4 Responses to “Grapes of…whatever the opposite of wrath is”

  1. My thesaurus tells me that the opposite of “wrath” is “happiness.” That book would have a whole different feel to it if it was called “The Grapes of Happiness”… Come on, John Steinbeck. Pull it together.

  2. Okay, so I stumbled across you on the #gaysharks twitstream. On which your tweets were cracking me up. Which led me to your profile, which brought me to your blog.

    On which the tags are as worth reading as are the posts. I’ll be back.

Leave a Reply

 
