You Don’t Know Jack

I’ve been working at my current office for about a year and a half now. Over the past few weeks, my one job has evolved into three. My week is split up three ways, which can get confusing, but it’s a nice change of pace.

Of these three jobs, the one I got most recently is my favorite. It involves writing and editing which, in case you hadn’t guessed, is something that I’m passionate about. No, it’s not creative writing or anything. But it’s still writing and it’s challenging and I’m really enjoying it so far.

It’s also at least KIND OF putting my Literacy Education masters to use. Kind of.

The other day a coworker that I also consider a friend pulled me aside and said, “I’m really happy for you…I just…Just be careful.”

“Be careful?”

“I don’t want you to become a jack of all trades and master of none.”

I’ve heard the phrase before, I had just never applied it to myself.  Yet, that’s exactly what I’ve been. In many aspects of my life.

Jack of all trades and master of none.

Pretty good at a lot of things, not really great at any of them.

I never really picked a passion and went with it. I wanted to do everything – anything.

Unfortunately, the only passion that has stepped forward lately has been my writing. Which is good in the sense that my job is now offering me opportunities to do that. Tricky in the sense that writing is not a career that can guarantee a regular paycheck.  Or a paycheck at all, necessarily.

I’d love to someday call myself a writer. I know what you’re thinking, “Uh, duh, you’re writing right now, aren’t you?” and yes, technically you’re right. However, until I someday get paid for my writing, I feel like I can’t consider myself a writer. Does that make sense? Am I wrong?

It feels so pretentious to be like, “I’m a writer. I have a blog.”

I don’t know. Maybe I am a writer, just because I do, in fact, write.  Maybe someday I’ll write that children’s book and actually be comfortable calling myself a writer.

For now, I’m fine with just writing here. For myself. For you. Writing because I want to.

Though I would be lying if I said I wouldn’t love to put jack behind me and become a master of something. I just wish I knew what I wanted that thing to be…

~ by Valerie Anne on 03/09/2011.

Leave a Reply

 
