Morning Glory

I’ve never been good at mornings.  For as long as I can remember, I have struggled with the process of waking up.

Snooze buttons, multiple alarms, simply lying in bed putting off the morning.  Some days, the only thing that gets me out of bed is telling myself when the next time I can be in bed will be.  It’s weird, I know, but it’s like a self-soothing method and it works.

Without fail, I end up dragging myself out of bed with 5-15 minutes to get ready before I have to be out the door.  Never time for breakfast, never much time for anything besides brushing my teeth, getting dressed, putting my contacts in and running a brush through my hair. I’m lucky I have time to do that.

Until last week.

All of a sudden my eyes were open as soon as my alarm went off. No foggy haze between dreams and reality.  Just awakeness. Energy.  I didn’t even need to hit snooze. I popped up, got ready…and then had time. I’d eat a cereal bar, put on some music.

I even had time to put on mascara. Mascara is something that is usually saved for going out.  Or when I feel icky and want to feel prettier.  It’s funny, how just a simple change like wearing mascara doesn’t go unnoticed by some people.

Though, honestly, I think part of the change they’ve been noticing also has to do to the energy.  Because it lasts more than just in the morning.

I bounce around work, chipper and bubbly (more so than usual), practically bursting with energy.  I get home and have so much energy that I have to dance around and/or do a little workout just to keep myself from going insane.

It’s a welcomed change, don’t get me wrong. It’s just sudden and odd and a little worrisome. Since things like this don’t just happen, do they? They have to be a SYMPTOM of something, right? Like some strange disease or a psychotic break of some sort?

I have been assured that this is probably not a life-threatening symptom of any kind.  I mean, not by any doctors or anything. But by my friends and family who know that I’m kind of a hypochondriac and that if they don’t say that I’ll end up on WebMD finding all kinds of awful justifications for this change.

For now, I’m going to attribute it to a change in diet. I’ve been eating healthier and losing some weight, so I think maybe that’s what has perked up my energy.  I’m going to enjoy it while I can.

I’m just kind of afraid of falling, being up this high for so long.  That ‘normal’ is going to feel awful after living in this excited state of bliss for so long.  Hopefully, even if a time does come, ‘normal’ will still feel normal. Or at least next to normal.

~ by Valerie Anne on 03/12/2011.

Leave a Reply

 
