30 Days of TV – Day 2

Day 02 – A show that needs more viewers

Pretty Little Liars. Too many people that I talk to have not watched this show. I know it’s an ABC Family show – believe me, I was hesitant at first, too. I don’t have a good track record with ABC Family shows. That show about the horse? Horsefire? Firecrotch? Wildfire. That was it. Awful. I watched a few episodes with my parents and I wanted to run into the TV and save the poor horses from having to listen to the whining and the terrible.  Greek started off okay, but then continuously ceased to entertain me. After three episodes they were already cycling storylines.  So I was done with that.

The previews for Pretty Little Liars hooked me. It looked different than other ABC Family shows. More dramatic. I mean, it was about murder for goodness sake. TEENAGE murder.

What has kept me going is the mystery.  I honestly just want to know who is torturing these girls.  These adorable girls with an inspiring friendship and a ridiculous and never-ending wardrobe.

And I don’t want to give away too much about the general plot, but there is an absolutely lovely lesbian storyline.  One of the Liars is starting to figure things out, and the way her friends support her in it is precious and magical and perfect.  The things she has been going through have been so relatable and awesome to see on a popular television show geared towards teenagers. It’s really a good sign for society, if you ask me.

If you’re going to start watching this show – which I strongly suggest you do – you have to start from the beginning. You can’t miss any plotlines, any clues.  You need to have all the details in your pocket before you can put your Sherlock Holmes hat on and sleuth with this wily teenagers.

But I recommend you do so.  This show never disappoints.

And I mean, LOOK at them! Could they BE any more adorable? All they need is a Great Dane and a Mystery Machine.

~ by Valerie Anne on 03/14/2011.

Leave a Reply

 
