If Posts Were Pennies, I’d Have A Whole Dollar

YAY! WELCOME TO MY 100TH BLOG POST!

Can you believe I’ve been Turning Phrases for six months?

So far, so good, I’d say!

Let’s recap a little. First, some fun facts:

In the 99 posts prior to this one, I have accumulated a total of a whopping 848 tags. That sounds a little excessive, I know. Sometimes I’m pretty sure my tag section is longer than the actual post. But I have a lot to say and sometimes it doesn’t fit into the pretty little package of a post. So…THERE. If you don’t like it, go watch someone else turn phrases!

One of my favorite stats to check is search engine terms. This is things that people searched for (I’m fairly certain this is only things searched from the WordPress homepage) and stumbled across my blog because of it.  Some are just topics I did, in fact, touch upon. Like things about Glee, “Steig Larsson”, “In The Heights” or “Mike Chang”.

Others made me giggle trying to imagine who was searching for these things and what exactly they had been searching for. And if they found it here! Some of my favorites:

“Meaning of there’s no place like home

Rainboots puddles ‘annoying the'”

How to break someone’s heart

“Happy bunny

“Elevators kiss

And my personal favorite:

“Sue pushes oral intensity coach downstairs”

I have linked the posts that I would assume these internet detectives were linked to. I can’t help but wonder if it was what they hoped for. I mean, I don’t remember writing anything profound about rainboots. And everyone’s definition of home is different, so who knows if that helped.  And I have a feeling that the person searching, “Happy bunny” was looking for something a little different. Additionally, was someone actually searching for ways to shatter the vital organ of another?  If so, that’s alarming. Or had they read my original post and they were just searching for it to show to someone else? I’d like to think it was the latter because I don’t like imagining cruelty resulting from my blog.

One person was possibly looking for a story/cartoon of two vertically moving metal boxes making out. Which they most certainly did not find here.

I hope that, even if it wasn’t what they were looking for, these visitors enjoyed their stay here!

Also, in case you were wondering, the post that received the most clicks overall was: Hold Me Close, Young Tony Danza!  Though it was a funny one, I’m pretty sure there was a glitch with this post as far as linking. I think it caught a spambot when I tweeted it so I’m not sure the numbers count. But the Gleecaps page is in second place, which is also exciting! Also among the top were some individual Gleecaps and Reading a Terrible Book is like Being in a Bad Relationship.

Looks like you guys like the funny more than the serious or ruminative. Noted! [Though I was impressed at the mix that was in the top 10 posts!!]

To wrap up, I have some people to thank. THAT’S RIGHT, IT’S LIKE A 100TH EPISODE PARTY THAT TV SHOWS HAVE! I’MMA THANK PEOPLE!

Some bloggers that inspire me: My friend Alyssa, my cousin Gina, Kris at Pretty All True, Rin and Sophy of RophyDoes and Heather Anne Hogan.

Some people that inspire me: Bethy, who popped out of nowhere from a faraway land (okay, Florida) to spread her love in the comments. Esmerelda, who forgot to mention she regularly reads this until I saw her in person one day after a long separation (it makes sense she reads it, since we were pretty much inseparable for a while in high school, so she would know my innermost thoughts back then, too).  My newer readers – people I have never met – who came, commented and some even SUBSCRIBED.  Every time I get feedback it makes my heart swell, so thank you to each and every one of you – even if you’ve never commented before.

And most importantly, I need to thank Christo. If it weren’t for this girl, Turning Phrases would not exist. It is through her CONSTANT encouragement and support that I have found the confidence to write whatever I want to write, however I want to write it – and even be proud of my own writing. She by far one of the smartest people I know and definitely one of the funniest, so to have her tell me on a regular basis that she enjoys this blog is really all the fuel I need to keep going. Of course, there are a million other non-blog related things I would love to publicly thank her for, but I think that will get its own post entirely someday.

Let’s end on a poll! Something new in the 100th post! I’m not entirely sure that this will work, since I haven’t done them before, but it’s worth a shot! You can choose one of the types of posts I have included, or you can write in your own if you feel I’ve forgotten one that you like best of all.

Thank you SO MUCH for reading. I hope you’ll stick with me for 100 more.

~ by Valerie Anne on 03/16/2011.

3 Responses to “If Posts Were Pennies, I’d Have A Whole Dollar”

  1. Awww thanks for the thanks! I know I haven’t been commenting lately but I still read and enjoy all the time 🙂 Love ya!

    • I kind of figured that you were still there, somewhere – at least, it made me happy to imagine you were! 🙂

      Thanks for reading!! ❤

      Miss you.

  2. […] It feels like just yesterday I hit 100! […]

Leave a Reply

 
