An Open Letter to Myself

Dear Body,

Look, I know you’ve been going through a rough time lately.  As it turns out, you might have an ulcer. I know, I know, that sounds pretty scary. But it’s actually not that bad! They just need to test your blood for a certain bacteria and if it’s really an ulcer, all you need is antibiotics! You’ll be as good as new in no time.

However, there is some bad news.  You see, the doctor has asked me to not give you any caffeine for two weeks. She also told me to avoid alcohol as much as possible. The alcohol thing I know you’ll be fine with – it’s not like we’ve been boozin’ it up in this past painful weeks.  But the caffeine…this is going to be a rough journey.

I’m going to need you to be strong for me. It’s going to be hard and you’re going to get tired, but I really need you to try. I need you to stay focused and as headache-free as possible. This last part is especially important, since I read somewhere that pain relievers like Tylenol actually aggravate ulcers.

So, I know the stomach pains aren’t your fault. And actually, they’ve been better today.  So I’m not going to give you a hard time with that. I just really need you to try to fight through this caffeine withdrawal thing, okay?  If you need to cause a headache, try to keep them to post-work.  Same goes with any shakiness or irritability you might be experiencing.  Think we can work together on this one? To make us better?

Thanks, I appreciate it. I know we’ve never really been through anything like this before. Pneumonia, we’ve got under our belts. Strep? No problem. But this is new and it’s hard so I appreciate any and all cooperation.

Love you,

–Me

~ by Valerie Anne on 03/30/2011.

Leave a Reply

 
