30 Days of TV – Day 5

Day 05 – A show you hate

The Closer.

I have never even seen an episode of that show in my entire life and I know I hate it. HATE it.

Okay, I suppose that’s not fair. I know nothing about the show. I hate Kyra Sedgwick. I hate her voice and hate her face. Commercials for that show make me want to kick and scream and throw things at my television.  Awful, it’s just AWFUL.

That show Wildfire I mentioned once. That was a bad one. So whiney and full of badness.

I also hate shows like The Secret Life of An American Teenager just on principal, even though I’ve never seen it.  People love to raise hell about gay relationships on television yet shows like this and Teen Mom are being praised and repeated.  I’m not saying I’m against showing pregnant children on television, I think it has the potential to get the message about how serious pregnancy is for kids. But don’t go hating on healthy queer relationships and leave the bastard children out of it.

I hate most reality television, honestly. Not all, but most. I literally can’t sit through a full episode of Real Housewives of Orange County without being sad for humanity.  Or sit through one at all, to be honest. And don’t even get me STARTED on The Bachelor. Sick.

The show Gigantic. First of all, you can’t use a word that is a modifier for overweight people for a show that features a morbidly obese girl, but is not actually about said girl or the fact that she’s very large.  Second of all, no.  It’s just crap and it makes me feel bad for Degrassi because it has to share a channel with it.

The Office.  I guess I can’t say I hate it but I really, really dislike it and it annoys me when it tries to be all up in my grill right before Glee is on.  I agree, sometimes it’s really funny.  However, in general, this is not my favorite Steve Carell character. I’m sorry to those of you who have tried over the years to get me to love this show. I just can’t.

AND OH MY GOODNESS ANYTHING ON, LIKE OR HAVING TO DO WITH E!  Celebrity gossip bothers me. It didn’t always, but now it does. I think because now there are so many ways to hear news and get details from the celebrities themselves, that I find overanalyzing paparazzi photos and  spreading rumors about these people we’ve never met really…mean.  I used to read Perez Hilton every day, multiple times a day.  Until one day something in me just clicked and it felt awful. I came to see it for exactly what it was. Gossip.

Anwyay, back to my point, any of those celebrity gossip SHOWS are annoying. And all of the announcers on E! kind of sound like they’re on E.  It’s just depressing.  And annoying.

Man, I thought this was going to be a hard one but I guess I’m on a roll. At first I was like, “What the? How am I supposed to know if I hate a show? I obviously don’t watch shows I don’t like, how often could I possibly have gotten to the hate stage?”  But then I remembered Kyra’s voice.  And it snowballed from there.

~ by Valerie Anne on 04/02/2011.

Leave a Reply

 
