Found Art

I have this idea.

I’ve had this idea for a while, actually.  I just never put it into motion. I started once, but somehow got distracted.

It’s an art project of sorts.

I’m not sure what I’ll do with this art project. Whether it will just be something I post on the internet somewhere, or something I will hang on my wall.  I guess it depends on how it turns out.

I started this project today. I started collecting words.

I guess I can show you a few, since it’s only the beginning and I have no idea what direction it will take when it’s finished.  This way, you’ll have an idea of what I mean.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Obviously they don’t mean anything as they are, because my collection has only just begun.

I plan on choosing a quote – I don’t know which one yet, I think it depends on the words I collect – a quote about finding beauty in unexpected places perhaps, and constructing it entirely out of found words.

Like I said, I had this idea a while ago. It was sometime in college, though I don’t remember exactly when or where I got this idea from.

I’m aware that this isn’t an original idea. I’m aware that it has been done before and will be done again.

And I’ll admit, the flame for this project was rekindled when I saw the video for Who Says this morning.

But that doesn’t make me any less excited about what I could come up with.

Besides, sometimes found art can be amazing.

~ by Valerie Anne on 04/09/2011.

Leave a Reply

 
