Departure

I slowly step onto the landing, the train station as empty and deserted as I feel. A cool wind rustles the trees, causing the leaves to whisper all around me.  I look up at the moon, bright and full, and search for the face that allegedly lives there. Search for any way to feel less alone. But there is no one looking down at me. Only shadows join me on the empty platform, dancing around my feet as the breeze shifts the branches in and out of the moonlight.

Emptiness fills me.

As the train pulls up, disturbing the stillness of the evening, I think of everything I’m leaving behind. I think of the memories and the laughter.  They are distant, just out of reach.  They echo inside of me and seem to be getting further and further away with each passing moment.

I think of the pain and the regret.  They are closer, more tangible. I can feel them in my bones, on my skin. They choke me as I try to take in some of the night air that surrounds me.

As the train slows to a stop in front of me, I can already feel the weight of worry starting to lift. As I exhale, I release some of the aching sadness. I shift my duffle bag to my other shoulder before boarding the steps into the car, where a sleepy usher stamps my ticket as he gives me a weary smile.  I take my seat by the window as the train groggily starts back up again, pulling along and slowly picking up speed.  I watch as the silvery moon starts to shrink as we leave it behind. As I leave everything behind.

Then something strange happens.  In that hole, that place where the worry that I left on the platform had been, in its place I find something new.

I find a little hope.

It isn’t much, but it’s there. I cling to it like a child clings to a teddy bear as I let the steady rhythm of the train lull me into a deep, dreamless sleep.

~ by Valerie Anne on 04/18/2011.

3 Responses to “Departure”

  1. Umm can you write more, please? Like maybe a whole novel? It’s not fair to suck me in then just leave me hanging!

  2. […] sometimes I use prompts, sometimes I write Glee recaps [Gleecaps, if you will], sometimes I do creative writing, sometimes I just write about life, love and […]

Leave a Reply

 
