Ode To Popcorn

Popcorn, O, Popcorn
O, glorious Popcorn
You are my favorite salty treat.

Popcorn, O, Popcorn
Light, fluffy Popcorn
You are such a delight to eat.

The sound of your popping brings joy to my ear,
just as it has been for many a year.
Your scent wafts in from my kitchen to tease
that craving I have only you can appease.

I take you out of the mic with pride,
hoping you have one more pop left inside.
The feel of that last pop, a smile does cause,
but one thing I see, well, it gives me some pause.

I see that a dark spot has formed while you popped,
a spot on the bag that says I should have stopped.
I open your bag with the utmost of care,
knowing we might have a problem in there.

For if you are burnt, oh, a turn for the worse
we’d have on our hands, and I’d have to curse.
For the smell would assault all my senses, you see.
Though, that would not stop me from devouring thee.

Well, phew, it does seem that you’re all in tact,
and still quite delicious, as a matter of fact.
Lightly salted, some butter, but not too much fat.
Still warm to the touch and I like you like that.

Popcorn, O, Popcorn
O, glorious Popcorn
You are my favorite salty treat.

Popcorn, O, Popcorn
Light, fluffy, Popcorn
You are such a delight to eat.

~ by Valerie Anne on 04/19/2011.

2 Responses to “Ode To Popcorn”

  1. Haha I love this! I definitely did laugh while reading it (I tried to keep it in my head since I’m at work but if anyone looked at me they definitely saw a big smile)

Leave a Reply

 
