30 Days of TV – Day 8

Day 08 – A show everyone should watch

How I Met Your Mother.

This show is hilarious and smart and adorable and goofy and witty and real.  The cast is phenomenal and the chemistry between the five main characters makes you want to be their friend and hang out with them at McClaren’s all the time.  They take really simple human characteristics or life situations and call them out for what they are.  Each of the gang is different and they are perfect caricatures of different types of people.  You will find parts of yourself in each of them.

This show makes me laugh out loud on a regular basis. It makes me go, “Yeah! That! That happens! We do that!”  It makes me think, it makes me smile, it makes me want more.  It makes me feel okay with feeling like I’ll never be a real grown up, because they certainly aren’t.  It makes me feel okay that I’m 24 and still figuring things out, because they’re older and definitely have some figuring out to do.

I realize these are fictional characters, but they’re written by real people and they’re portrayed by real people and I really feel like this show is just an exaggerated, concentrated version of real life. Especially since it’s set in New York City, where absurd things happen on the regular.

It’s gotten to the point that I don’t even want to know how he met their mother because that would mean the show was most likely coming to an end. And I’m enjoying the journey too much to want that.

~ by Valerie Anne on 05/04/2011.

Leave a Reply

 
