A Magical Adventure

I have been given a mission.

I have until July to totally catch up on the Harry Potter series.

When the books first came out, I was enamored with them. I dove into that world head first. Counted down the days until the release of the new book. Made my mother and brother read them just so I had someone to talk about them with. I would imagine what it would be like to get that letter in the mail. I imagined what the sorting hat would say when it was placed on my nervous but excited little head. I would wonder which classes I would take and if me and Hermione would be best friends.

But too much time passed between when I finished the 4th book and when the 5th book came out and I lost it. I had started other books, other series, and I just never got back into it. I watched the first three movies but got discouraged because I knew I couldn’t keep watching them as they came out, because I never finished the books – and I couldn’t possibly watch the ones I hadn’t read. I knew from watching the first few movies that there was a lot they had to skip so that the movies weren’t 87 years long.  It was a beautiful visual of the books, but I could see the movies getting confusing if you didn’t have the background. So, I was in a quandary. I had no choice but to give up the magical world altogether.

But I’m coming back! I had been intending to do it for a while, but was fairly unmotivated. But now the final installment of the movies is coming out. So, I want to catch up.  Also, my friend made me a deal – if I started re-reading the books, she’d read the Hunger Games trilogy.

Fortunately, I’m home this weekend and we happen to own the books, so I’m starting now. I’m hoping to finish before the movie comes out – I do read pretty fast and usually have about an hour a day in transit that I can read. So, it’s not impossible.  And I can watch all of the movies in a weekend.

Challenge? Accepted!

Off I go to Hogwarts – wish me luck!

~ by Valerie Anne on 05/08/2011.

Leave a Reply

 
