My Thoughts Exactly [kinda]: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2

So, in the spirit of rounding off the series, I had to write about this movie. However, since it is still in theatres and I didn’t write my thoughts literally as they happened, this will be more of a general analysis to avoid “spoilers”, even though none of the plot should be spoiled because you should have read the book by now.

I think that these movies got better as they went on.

This movie was beautifully done. As usual, there were parts that were omitted for time constraint reasons, or consistency reasons, and there were things that were shifted and changed a little. But overall, it was just so well done that it almost didn’t matter.  I cried for at least half of this movie, despite knowing exactly what would happen. If I was physically capable of happy tears, I would have been crying twice as much.

I love this franchise, I love JK Rowling and the message she has given anyone who has indulged in this series.

This movie in particular was beautiful because it was a perfect mix of light and dark. It was funny and witty when it needed to be, to counterbalance the sad and heavy moments.  There were so many parts that applied to the events that were happening in the world of Hogwarts that were also relevant to us, to fans of this world, who realized that this was the last movie. That this was the end.

I’m glad I got to see this movie in theatres. It reminded me that some movies are just meant to be seen that way. I’m sure this movie will be delightful to own on DVD, but there was something special about being engulfed in the sights and the sounds of the final battle against Voldemort that just cannot be obtained on the small screen.

I love everything about these books and these movies are a delightful way to relive them in a new way between re-reads.

I know everyone feels like it’s the end, but I know it won’t be. I know that this series will live on and that JK Rowling will have other amazing things to share with us. This might have been the end of the story for Harry, Hermione and Ron…but this certainly isn’t a permanent “good-bye”.

Mischief managed.

~ by Valerie Anne on 07/16/2011.

Leave a Reply

 
