30 Days of TV – Day 16, 17 & 18

Day 16 – Your guilty pleasure show

Well, this one’s kind of hard because anyone who knows me knows that I’m not ashamed of the fact that I like things that are kind of ridiculous. I’ve never been hesitant to admit my love for Glee loud and proud [though sometimes I keep the extent to which I’m obsessed on the DL].  Everyone who knows me knows that I love shows like Sonny with a Chance and iCarly.

Calling a show a guilty pleasure show implies that I am embarrassed.  I am not. There came a day when I may not have admitted to people that I watched Arthur every weekday after school, even when I was in 6th grade.  Not anymore. The people I have surrounded myself with like me for who I am, quirks and all. While they might not come over for a marathon of Degrassi, they understand that it’s just part of who I am.

So, even though I may be greeted with eye rolls or laughter, I’m not unwilling to cop to watching any of the shows I watch on the regular.

Since that answer was really a non-answer [and because I want to be DONE WITH THIS STUPID LIST], let’s do another day.

Day 17 – Favorite mini series

There are enough of those to have to pick a favorite? The only one I can think of that I’ve seen off the top of my head is Oz. I think that was the name of it. It was set in like post-apocalyptic Oz.   It’s a very dark, twisted version of the story of the Wizard of Oz.  That scary albino guy from Desperate Housewives was in it. He was a sheriff – nicknamed the Tin Man. Because his badge was tin. Get it?  It had all the proper elements of the original story, but it was scarier. Zooey Deschenel was Dorothy.  I really only remember clips and scenes from it – like it was a dream [nightmare?] I had a long time ago.

But considering it’s the only miniseries I can think of, I’m going to go with, that’s my favorite.

Okay, so I just took a peek at the next day, and that one’s super short, so I’m going to do it. I’m telling you, I want this DONE. I want to put it behind me and pretend I never made this horrible, horrible decision.

Day 18 – Favorite title sequence

Buffy the Vampire Slayer. Nuuuuuuuu nuuu nuuu nuuuuu, nuuuuuuuuu nuu nuu nuuuuuuuuu.

It’s the best. Plus, the scenes they took for the openings were always epic.

It’s one of the few songs I can listen to even though it doesn’t have any words. Thank you, Nerf Herder.

Runner up for this category would be the Degrassi opening titles. Well, the old ones. First of all, I like that they show every person in their element, WHILE their real name flashed on the screen.  Also, in the old episodes, you used to have to earn your spot in the opening title. When someone finally made it in, you knew they’d be around for a while. Sometimes you even felt proud of them! That’s not the case anymore. This season, Imogen [who is awful] and the neighbor kid Claire’s dating [who isn’t much better] were in the credits before we even knew who they were. I was highly offended. However, the song is the same and as catchy as ever.

Second runner up would have to be the theme for Drake & Josh. Their words MATCH their actions towards the end. It makes my heart smile every time.

YES! Only 12 more of these good-for-nothing, lame-ass, stupid posts. I should have known I wasn’t ready for this kind of commitment. 30 days?! I can’t keep my room clean for more than a week. I don’t even like grocery shopping for more than a few days at a time.

Well, at least now we know what kinds of things I will NOT be embarking on later in this blog.

Sheesh.

~ by Valerie Anne on 08/12/2011.

Leave a Reply

 
