Every Day I’m Shuffling

I love my coworkers.

We have a dynamic that I think is rare to find in a lot of companies these days. We’re kind of like family.

This weekend I went up to our CFO’s lakehouse with a handful of people.  It was a mix of people with small children and people who are nowhere near ready to have children. A mix of people from all different teams within the company. A mix of people who have been with the company since its inception and people who joined in the past few months.

However, akin to the unlikely combination of blended watermelon, coconut milk, lemonade, pineapplejuice, vodka and who knows what else that was mixed together that we partook in Saturday night – it somehow worked out. Quite swimmingly, I must say.

I’m not going to hash out the details of the trip, because that won’t be fun for you.  I will, however, give you some highlights…just so I’m not totally wasting your time here.

Friday night we went to the Bob Dylan concert [yeah, I don’t know] with a bunch of middle-aged hippies.  To get in, you first had to go through a line where you got your bags checked – pretty standard these days. Most people went through, and there was just me and one other girl left. She opened her bag for the man and he pointed at something and said, “Is that a camera?”.  Assuming he thought it might be a weapon or flask of some kind, she proudly answered, “Yes!”. He grimaced somewhat apologetically and said, “Sorry, you can’t have that in here. You’ll have to leave it in your car.”

Womp womp.

Since I hadn’t gone through yet, I offered to go back with her. She called ahead to our friend who had already gotten checked and asked for her car keys. She decided she’d come with us instead. As we walked towards the back of the line, grumbling about how stupid that is since phones take pictures too, I asked if he had gone through her bag or if they just peeked in, since she had gotten through with no problem.  She said they just looked in so I said, “Why don’t we just shove it further down in your bag and try a different line? Or put it in my pocket, they’re not going to pat me down.”  They looked at me as though I just told them I invented the Popcorn Bowl and told me that was an amazing idea. As my friend shoved her camera inside our other friend’s rolled up blanket, she just kept saying things like, “I never would have thought of that. I would have wasted an hour going back to the car, I didn’t even consider that there was another way. You’re so smart. I need to be more clever like that.” I raised an eyebrow, explaining “I’m not sure it’s considered smart. Sneaky, sure. Lazy, definitely. Not smart. Don’t let me be a bad influence on you.”  (That last part was a joke, considering she’s a little older than I am and I can’t even influence my little brother to edit his language when he sings along to his awful rap songs in my presence.)  I just always think it’s funny when people mistake my ability to find the easy way out and/or deceive people for cleverness.

The concert itself wasn’t anything special. However, we had lawn seats so it was basically like a lovely picnic under the stars with old music playing in the background. We laughed a lot and the weather was perfect. And it was so nice to be able to see stars.

We spent half of Saturday on the boat.  I attempted wakeboarding and, unsurprisingly, failed miserably. But I’m glad I tried and I’d definitely try it again. The boat itself was nice and the lake looked like something off a postcard. The time we didn’t spend on the boat [which ended up being more than we planned due to lightening] we spent playing a card game called Palace. It was new to most of us, but we caught on pretty quickly. I don’t know what it was about this game, but we played for approximately 10 hours total. We just sat around, playing, drinking, talking, laughing. For hours. We’d break for food, but not very long. We’d get up and change seats now and then to make the game more interesting. Shortly after we got the hang of it, we started keeping score – we made it a tournament.  Three points for first place, two points for second, one for third. We were going to play to 30 at first, but when someone reached 28 points we decided we weren’t ready to be done and made it 50 instead.

Now, I’m no mathematician, but you can imagine how many rounds we played if one person was nearing 50 points and the most they could possibly get is 3 at a time, and there were at least seven people playing at any given moment, usually more. I don’t know if that was confusing for you or not, but my point was, we played a bajillion rounds of this game. And never tired of it. The only reason we stopped at all was because we were probably going to fall asleep at the table if we didn’t.

Today, back in my Brooklyn apartment, I’m the kind of sore that comes from doing something new and fun, the kind of exhausted that comes from laughing and being too happy to sleep in.  It was an unusual mix of coworkers, but an almost perfect mix.  I think everyone really enjoyed themselves.

It could have had a lot to do with the fact that it would have been hard not to enjoy a weekend on a beautiful lake, with shoddy reception making things a little more peaceful. No loud music, no traffic, no sirens. Just the Bill Withers Pandora station, good food, good booze, good company.

Good times.

~ by Valerie Anne on 08/14/2011.

Leave a Reply

 
