August

The air is heavy, but cool as it brushes against my skin.  It pushes the hair out of my face and I close my eyes against the breeze.

The air is thick with change.

I can smell the rain, even though it hasn’t yet fallen. It’s almost as if I can feel the seasons preparing to shift. Autumn isn’t here yet, but it’s not far off. This day is just a reminder.

The next day, it’s back to blue skies and sunshine. The warmth that covers me tries to help me forget, tries to blind me to what’s coming with its rays, but I know it’s not going to last forever.

The heaviness in the air is gone, but it still rests squarely on my chest.  It makes each breath, each rise and fall, a little more noticeable with each passing day.  As if, with each tear of the calendar, each time that stack gets one page smaller, it’s placed inside of me, weighing me down.

Heartbeats sound so much louder when there is something pressing down on you, giving it something to echo off of.

September will be lighter. The air is fresh and crisp, the wind carries wisps of new adventure as it dances across the sky.

Once the thick air moves on, it will be better. Until then, as the time passes, it might become difficult to focus on anything but the simple act of breathing.

Not impossible, though. Never impossible. Just…just hard.

~ by Valerie Anne on 08/17/2011.

2 Responses to “August”

  1. This may be one of the most beautiful things I’ve ever read.

Leave a Reply

 
