30 Days of TV – Day 19

Day 19 – Best TV show cast

Okay, so we all know that Buffy has a very special place in my heart, and I will follow any Buffy alumn wherever they go. I have watched some God-awful movies just because Sarah Michelle Gellar was in them.

Also, the cast of How I Met Your Mother bounces off one another with near perfection – their dynamic is just deliciously entertaining. You can always tell they’re having fun.

However – and I blame/thank modern technology for this – I have never felt more personally connected or enthralled by a cast as a whole than the Glee cast. I have a feeling that if twitter or tumblr existed in the 90’s, I’d feel similarly to the Buffy cast as I do the Glee cast. Though, maybe not, because I was 9 years old when Buffy started. I was far younger than the actors as well as the characters they played. In fact, David Boreanaz, who I had a major crush on, is technically old enough to be my father [by technically I mean biologically, he’s 18 years older].  However, the Glee cast is different. Their characters are in high school, something that seems like it was a lifetime ago yet just recently. Also, more importantly, they are my age. The majority of the cast is actually less than two years younger or older than me.  Naya Rivera is flawless literally three days younger than me. Adding to this – possibly because of this – they are active on the social media sites. I follow all of the members of New Directions [plus Blaine!] on twitter, and I honestly feel that it gives me more of a personal connection to them.  They also give off the impression that they’re friends in real life, which helps us feel more attached to them as an ensemble.

I think it also helps that most of these actors were plucked from near oblivion from this show. Some had been featured as minor characters on shows before, some had been on Broadway or other performance type things, some were literally just regular people before being cast.

Every interview I see with them – individually or in pairs/groups – makes me love them more.  Every impromptu video they share with us, usually via twitter, makes me want to be their friend.  They seem to take what they’re doing seriously and with a grain of salt all at the same time. They realize that what they do is hilarious and entertaining, yet they still know that they have an impact on the world. It still seems to blow their mind a little when they get recognized on the street in a country they’ve never been before, but they still know how much they affect everyone.

Call me obsessed, I’m okay with that. I’m a Gleek and I’m proud. I believe what they’re doing is important, fun and wonderful.

I love this show and I’d be lying if I said that I’m not scared for its future after this season. Either way, we’ve had an amazing two years so far, and I look forward to the next season, if not more.

What I do NOT look forward to, however, is the next 11 “days” of this meme. Gahhhh.

~ by Valerie Anne on 08/21/2011.

Leave a Reply

 
