Transitions

Transitions suck, generally.

Right now, for example. Everything is packed. My father is sitting on a desk chair at the window my air conditioner used to live in. I’m sitting atop my dresser where my TV sat just this morning. And we’re waiting.

We got up early to get a head start on the day. Took the fifteen minute walk to Dunkin Donuts. Finished packing, filled some holes in the wall, swept the floors, cleaned the bathroom, washed the countertops. We made the walk again for more coffee. And we’re waiting.

It’s half past noon and the movers won’t be here for another four hours. My roommate will eventually return with the keys and we’ll make a run in our cars with as much as we can fit, just to save time later. But for now, we’re just waiting.

Transitions suck.

I just want to be in the new apartment, unpacked and ready to start life in my new borough. I want to explore my new neighborhood and test out my new laundromat. I want this all to be over. I don’t want to carry boxes up and down three flights of stairs, I don’t want to actually have to unpack. I don’t want to be waiting.

Transitions suck, but they are necessary. In order for change to happen, even the best kinds of change, there needs to be some sort of transition. So I will buckle down, I will pitch in, I will unpack. I will wait.

The outcome will definitely be worth it.

~ by Valerie Anne on 09/01/2011.

2 Responses to “Transitions”

  1. “Transitions suck, but they are necessary. In order for change to happen, even the best kinds of change, there needs to be some sort of transition”

    I’m taking that one and running with it. I am stuck in perhaps the biggest transition of my life this far, and it sucks…but good things will come when it is over!

    • I’m sorry it sucks right now, but you’re right, it will be amazing once you’re through it!!

      In the meantime, if you need a little vacation…to NYC…I wouldn’t be opposed. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
