30 Days of TV – Day 22

Day 22 – Favorite series finale

Series finales get me every time.

As much as I hate it when a show gets cancelled and it wasn’t prepared for it, sometimes it’s better to let your imagination wrap everything up in a neat little bow, because actually watching a show that you love say goodbye to you through your television screen is absoultely heartwrenching.

I didn’t think I was going to recover from the Buffy series finale. I literally cried for days. My best friends were leaving me forever. They had one final battle, some survived, some didn’t. Anya’s speech?! Oh my God. It was a pretty happy ending, generally, but I felt like part of my soul stayed in that giant hole that was once Sunnydale.

The Friends finale was a rough one, too. This was a show that I had watched literally hundreds of times. Reruns played on every station every night for years. My family and I woudl just have it on the television while we were making/eating dinner every night. So when we all tuned in to say goodbye to them, it was really emotional.

I’m not good with goodbyes. Fictional goodbyes just remind me of real life goodbyes.  I’m sure there are other season finales I’m not mentioning that left me weepy. It’s really only when shows get plucked off the air without warning that I’m able to part with them without tears.

~ by Valerie Anne on 09/30/2011.

Leave a Reply

 
