He Said, She Said, I Said: Marry You

I would like to preface this by saying that I absolutely adore this song and every time it comes on, I listen to it at least three times in a row before letting myPod shuffle along.  But you have to admit, the words are…interesting.

It’s a beautiful night,
We’re looking for something dumb to do.

Yeah! Let’s do it! What should we do? Run through a fountain? Drink some fish bowls? Dancing in the streets?

Hey baby,
I think I wanna marry you.

Wait…what?

Is it the look in your eyes,
Or is it this dancing juice?
Who cares baby,
I think I wanna marry you.

Okay, if you can’t tell if it’s my eyes or your drink that’s making you say this, I’m gonna go with NO.

Well I know this little chapel on the boulevard we can go,
No one will know,
Come on girl.

No one will know? I think you may have to look up “wooing” in the dictionary. Because this, my friend, ain’t it.

Who cares if we’re trashed got a pocket full of cash we can blow,
Shots of patron,
And it’s on girl.

Okay, now you’re talking.

Don’t say no, no, no, no-no;
Just say yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah-yeah;
And we’ll go, go, go, go-go.
If you’re ready, like I’m ready.

As long as we’re still just on the shots of patron thing. No more of this marriage talk. Especially if you’re one to play it fast and loose with that pocket full of cash.

Cause it’s a beautiful night, 
We’re looking for something dumb to do. 
Hey baby, 
I think I wanna marry you. 

Is it the look in your eyes,
Or is it this dancing juice?
Who cares baby,
I think I wanna marry you.

Damnit, we’re on to this again, aren’t we?

I’ll go get a ring let the choir bells sing like oooh,
So whatcha wanna do?
Let’s just run girl.

You’ll go get a ring? You didn’t even have a RING?! You know what I “wanna” do? I wanna sit you down and make you watch a few romantic comedies and show you that this let’s-get-drunk-and-get-married only works about 25% of the time.

If we wake up and you wanna break up that’s cool.
No, I won’t blame you;
It was fun girl.

WHAT?! I am no Britney Spears. “It was fun.” Sheesh! Again, not so great with the wooing. I am not feeling even a little bit wooed.

Don’t say no, no, no, no-no;
Just say yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah-yeah;
And we’ll go, go, go, go-go.
If you’re ready, like I’m ready.

Cause it’s a beautiful night,
We’re looking for something dumb to do.
Hey baby,
I think I wanna marry you.

“No, no, no, no-no” is about all I can think of saying right now. Sorry.

~ by Valerie Anne on 10/04/2011.

Leave a Reply

 
