A New Perspective

I recently moved desks in my office at work. I now sit two seats away from a woman who lost a son to neuroblastoma, a form of cancer that affects way too many children. He wasn’t yet seven years old, and our office adored it whenever he came to visit.. This week marked one year since he was taken from us, and we all miss him dearly.  His mother runs an organization that raises money for pediatric cancer research, and her attitude – even and especially since her tragic loss – inspires me regularly. For the purposes of this anecdote, I will call her “G”.

Today, the office manager was running around in a frenzy (as usual) because the wrong cabinets had been ordered for the new office space (where I sit now) or the tables were built too short or something. He was talking with pure panic in his voice, and the girl who sits next to me told him to take a deep breath, it wasn’t the end of the world. He sighed and goes, “I know. It’s just that everything is going wrong.”

G turned around, looked him square in the eye and said simply, “Is it cancer?”

Caught off guard, his face went blank and he hesitated.

With no more urgency in her voice, she repeated plainly, “Is it cancer?”

His shoulders relaxed and he shook his head, “No. It’s not.”

“Okay then.”

More calm now, he said, “It’s just that my boss is taking his frustrations out on me.”

“Just say the same thing I said to you. ‘Is it cancer?’ I do it to him all the time.”

It reminded me of a song from Suessical.

It’s a silly way of saying a similar thing.

“When your life’s going wrong, and the fates are unkind, when you’re limping along and get kicked from behind. Tell yourself how lucky you are.”

“Be happy you’re here, think of life as a thrill.  And if worse comes to worse (As we all know it will). Thank your lucky stars you’ve gotten this far. And tell yourself how lucky you are.”

Just thought it was an interesting moment. One I’m going to try to remember when I’m feeling stressed, angry or upset over something trivial, something temporary. Something curable.

~ by Valerie Anne on 01/25/2012.

2 Responses to “A New Perspective”

  1. Thanks for sharing this anecdote. It’s always good to be reminded of keeping things in perspective 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
