Love is Love

This is my obligatory Valentine’s Day post.

However, this year? I’m feeling a lot different than I usually do on the pink and red infused day of hearts and chocolate.

Usually I’m bitter, I’m grumpy, I’m nauseated by the PDA and the cheap decorations. I’ve been single for every single Valentine’s Day I’ve ever lived to see, and somewhere between the ages of 17 and 20, I got sick of it and decided to actively hate the holiday.

In fact, most years, at least one friend and I would have anti-Valentine’s Day parties, where we would do something decidedly not Valentine-y. Like watch the goriest horror film we could find.

This year was different for me for a lot of reasons. I’m still single; just as single, if not more single, than I have ever been. So that’s not different. I guess maybe…maybe I’m different.

All I know is that when I got a package from my mother yesterday and it contained little heart-shaped boxes full of play-doh with typical sayings like “Be Mine” and “Hug Me” on them, complete with to/from stickers, I was thrilled to start filling them out to give them to my coworkers. I know that today, I was perfectly content with going home to watch Glee, as I do most Tuesday nights.

And I know that when I saw people with bouquets of flowers or Mylar balloons on the train, for once I didn’t grimace or roll my eyes. I smiled. Every time.

No, I don’t know the kind of love that will bring me a box of chocolates on Valentine’s Day. I’ve never had anyone serenade me in the park or reserve a table for two at our favorite restaurant. But I still know love.

At one point today, after I gave out some of my Valentine’s to my coworkers who I’m lucky enough to call friends, emailed one of my very best friends, wrote on my parents’ Facebook walls and received a text from my cousin, it became abundantly clear to me that it didn’t matter that I wasn’t dating anyone today.

I was surrounded by love. And maybe that’s all this day is really about.

Love isn’t always about romance or marriage or sex or chocolate hearts or bright red flowers. Love is about putting a smile on someone’s face, making them laugh, letting them cry, listening to them. Love is about loving. Every way you know how.

So whether you spent the day/night with your boyfriend, your girlfriend, your best friend, some random friends, an old friend, a new friend, or with no one at all, I hope you realized that you are loved. No matter who you are, I promise you that there’s someone out there who loves you. I’m not talking romantic love. I’m talking about love in the most beautiful, raw and general sense. Someone who cares about you and who feels sad when you’re sad. Someone who would be there for you without blinking if you needed them.

If you can’t think of anyone at the moment, it’s possible you just haven’t met them yet. But you will. I promise.

Happy Valentine’s Day

~ by Valerie Anne on 02/15/2012.

2 Responses to “Love is Love”

  1. Well, what can I say? This post is perfect. It’s how I felt about Valentine’s this year but couldn’t hope to put it into words as well as you have. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

 
