Lent

Ah, Lent.

I don’t know about you other Catholics out there, but I find Lent to be much more of a motivator than a New Year’s Resolution. With resolutions, you’re making a promise to yourself. You’re testing yourself. You’re held responsible for yourself.

And honestly, I don’t find myself very intimidating. These resolutions last a week. Tops.

Lent, on the other hand, if you were instilled with the proper amount of Catholic guilt as I have been, is a whole other story. You’re making a promise to God. Jesus is testing you. The possibility of being damned to hell for all eternity is holding you responsible.  And I’ll be honest, the fear of Zeus-like lightning bolts coming for you from the sky is as good a motivator as having Jillian Michaels screaming that you’re worthless.

If Jesus could fast in the desert for 40 days and 40 nights, I can go without popcorn for that long, right?

Right?

~ by Valerie Anne on 02/22/2012.

4 Responses to “Lent”

  1. Haha, before I read your tags, I thought to myself, “I’m going to comment that she should make a Lenten promise to update every day again!” But then I read your tags… “Post more” works too. 🙂

  2. Loved this! I, too, am a product of the Catholic upbringing. I was the one always asking questions about the Bible’s account of history and what impact giving up junk food for 40 days really made on the greater good. If you haven’t seen George Carlin’s bit “I Used to Be an Irish Catholic” I highly recommend you do.

Leave a Reply

 
