Recommitting

Okay, look.

I want to get this show back on the road.

This hiatus was all fun and good, but I miss writing!

I think I started to get too heady about it. I was trying too hard to think of important or witty or smart or amazing things to write.

I wanted to make sure this wasn’t just an online journal, I wanted to make sure I wasn’t just spewing nonsense.

But you know what? This kind of is an online journal. Just because I’m not tracking my daily activities like I [inexplicably] did in my LiveJournal doesn’t mean that’s not exactly what this is. Just because I include creative writing pieces here alongside my personal thoughts and narratives doesn’t make it any less journally.

So I’m going to try to go back to posting every day. At least almost every day. As often as I can without posting purely for the sake of posting.  When I used to be committed to once a day, it pushed me to try things I wasn’t necessarily ready for, but needed to crank out to meet my own goals. It forced me to challenge myself and stop second-guessing my abilities. It allowed me to take risks and step outside my comfort zone.

And you know what? Some of what I came up with is actually pretty good. I now have pieces of writing that I can honestly say I’m happy with. Sure, 90% of what I spewed out was complete and utter rubbish, but at the end of the day, it’s totally worth it. If I can get one piece of writing that I will proudly sign my name to for every hundred posts, I am a happy camper.

And if, along the way, I make even one person smile? This has all been totally worthwhile.

“I’d rather be nine people’s favorite thing than a hundred people’s ninth favorite thing.” – Title of Show

~ by Valerie Anne on 02/23/2012.

2 Responses to “Recommitting”

  1. That’s awesome! I’ve read a few of your posts here and enjoyed them. Love finding new blogs to visit!

Leave a Reply

 
