Unfinished Thoughts

Something’s still wrong, apparently.

I thought since I no longer felt like I needed space from my blog, I’d be banging out posts like the good ol’ days.

But instead I have 15 drafts started and plenty more thought up, and they all lay where they fell, unfinished.  Maybe it’s a good thing? Maybe it’s a sign that I’m growing as a writer, because I don’t just keyboard smash for a few minutes then click “post”?

Or maybe I’m broken. Maybe I ran out of interesting things to say.  I do COME to the site every day, my head full of a jumble of words and images that I want to express. But then I tend to get distracted by something or someone. Or angry at that damn blinking cursor, the bane of my existence.

Is it still considered writer’s block if you know what you want to write, you just haven’t gotten around to it yet? I feel like maybe it’s Lazy Writer Syndrome. I still have all the ideas in my head, I still create fanciful stories in my imagination on a day-to-day basis, I just haven’t been sitting down and letting them flow out through my fingertips.

I think that even starting the drafts has been progress. Lately I’ve found myself more often having to take out my phone or my iPod and jot something down, instead of letting the idea bloom in my head but then blow away with the breeze.

So I do have posts in the works. I do have ideas. I have streams of consciousness to share, anecdotes and reflections to elaborate on. Gleecaps to finish, London Chronicles to transcribe, songs to tear apart with my vicious, vicious words.

I set an alert on my phone to go off once a day that says “Have you written anything today?”, complete with a few prompts. So far, it has just been yet another alarm/event I ignore regularly. But maybe someday I’ll use it as an excuse to jot something down.

Until then, you get to read sporadic posts about not posting. Fun, right?

Hopefully I get over this LWS soon. Because I have a lot of things to say. I just have to get around to say them.

~ by Valerie Anne on 04/17/2012.

2 Responses to “Unfinished Thoughts”

  1. I know exactly how you feel…I have saved drafts from 2010 I’m still working on. Good to know I’m not the only one who feels this way.

Leave a Reply

 
