Bad News Made Better

I hate the news. Hate it. Whenever it comes on my TV, my insides start to hurt and my heart starts to tighten. There’s badness in the world, I know that. I don’t need to see it, to hear about it. I don’t need to hear the choked sobs of a parent looking for their lost child. I don’t need to hear the confused accounts of neighbors who had no idea the creepy man next door had a hundred bodies in his basement. I know the world has badness in it, my life will in no way improve from watching these horrible clips and interviews.

Same goes with the actual newspaper. I used to get New York’s free paper for the crossword and soduku games, and I wouldn’t be able to help but scan the headlines and I flipped to the back of the paper. Of course the biggest headlines were of pain and despair and the failings of our country, as a whole or on individual levels. Not a wonderful way to start your day.

Now, I’m not saying I’m uninformed. Believe me, I know plenty. If someone mentions a news story that I find interesting, I will seek it out and read up on it. I pay attention to what’s trending on twitter or what’s being talked about on Facebook, and I do my research as it interests me. It just usually doesn’t. I’m much more interested in when Naya Rivera’s album comes out or what the cast of Pretty Little Liars is up to behind the scenes.

Besides, I’ve found it actually makes for more interesting conversations at work or with friends when someone says, “Did you hear about this?” and I can say, “No, tell me about it.” PeopleĀ like being the one to tell you something for the first time. And I am nothing if not a people pleaser.

So, for this prompt, I chose not to select one news story, but the entire cover of the New York Times. A representation of news as a whole. And look! I made it pretty. A little blur here, a little smudge there, a pop of color… and voila!

The news doesn’t look so bad today, after all.

~ by Valerie Anne on 05/25/2012.

Leave a Reply

 
