It Gets Better

“Will it ever get better than this?”

Angry words on tear-stained paper, words meant for my eyes only. My hand shakes from anger and fear as I read them over. When the words won’t come anymore, when I can’t find a way to express the pain, they are replaced with sobs. I lie on my bedroom floor, confused, broken.

Years later, the same words ring through my head. But this time they’re joined by a sigh of contentment. I write to my family, to my friends, for work and for pleasure. I write, not until the words won’t come, but until I’m blissfully exhausted. I lie in my bed, finally sure, and finally whole.

“Will it ever get better than this?”

~ by Valerie Anne on 11/03/2012.

2 Responses to “It Gets Better”

  1. This is sort of vague, but I really really like it. 😀

Leave a Reply

 
