Cousinly Love

Today, I did not have the energy – physical or emotional – do anything I had planned to do with my Saturday. I, instead, had every intention of staying in bed until Sunday, and hope my mood would change. Then my cousin texted me.

He lives in New Jersey now, and was driving into Manhattan for a bit, and wanted to know if I wanted to see a movie with him. And at that moment, I was so sure, that him asking me to hang out was the only thing that could have gotten me out of bed today.

And I’m so glad I did. We didn’t even do anything spectacular or mind-blowing. We just hung out. We had a few drinks, grabbed dinner, went to see a movie. The movie wasn’t even anything to write home about. We saw Ride Along, and it was funny and all, but it was kind of just like paying to sit somewhere different from where we had been sitting previously. But it was just nice to be with him. He’s eleven months younger than me, so we’ve been best friends for as long as I can remember. He’s always been able to make me laugh, and he gives amazing hugs.

And today, I really needed to laugh, and I really needed an amazing hug.

I love it when the universe throws out a life preserver when it can see that you’re starting to sink.

~ by Valerie Anne on 01/25/2014.

Leave a Reply

 
